My Journey Through James

I am so excited that we are more than halfway done with this series. To those who have just joined me, I am doing a blog series detailing my journey through the book of James. Each blog will be about one chapter from the book and from each chapter I choose my favorite verse and then discuss what God spoke to me as I studied the scripture. I pray that you read my previous blog posts, so you can jump in with me on this journey, and I hope that you stay up to date with the ones I will be posting later. Thank you so much for joining me on this journey. Much love, Shay…

 James 3:5-6 ERV

It is the same with our tongue. It is a small part of the body, but it can boast about doing great things.

A big forest fire can be started with only a little flame. The tongue is like a fire. It is a world of evil among the parts of our body. It spreads its evil through our whole body and starts a fire that influences all of life. It gets this fire from hell.

 James 3:7-10 ERV

Humans have control over every kind of wild animal, bird, reptile, and fish, and they have controlled all these things.  But no one can control the tongue. It is wild and evil, full of deadly poison. We use our tongues to praise our Lord and Father, but then we curse people who were created in God’s likeness. These praises and curses come from the same mouth. My brothers and sisters, this should not happen

 

I know I have two separate verses- and that was not a part of the plan. But this is MY series, MY blog- and I feel like I can do that. Anyways I will not be discussing these verses individually, but I will combine them together, so you can get the full picture of what God showed me as I studied these scriptures. Remember just because they are my favorite scriptures from the chapter, does not mean I am actively living them out. Trust me, I struggle to.

Words are powerful. I could really leave it at that, but I am not. So get prepared for the convictions coming your way. As Christians we are to be peacemakers. I know that is so simple, but honestly sometimes we are not. James 3:5 explains how our mouth can cause hell to break loose. One small comment can cause conflict with our sisters and brothers- rather it is intentional or not. We should not purposely want to hurt people. We should not purposely stir up mess and drama. Read that bolded sentence again. If we are spreading mess and drama- how are we peacemakers? We are to uplift, empower and encourage others. What God showed me in James 3:9 is that I cannot speak critically about my sister or brother and praise the one that created them. But we see this all the time-we do not catch ourselves doing this, but we can all be guilty of this. That is why we need to be very careful with the environment we are in and who we call friends. In James 3:6 God showed me that I have to be very careful with what I say because my words stir my emotions. My words stir every part of me: my heart, my mind and my actions. In order for us to be confident in what comes from our mouth, we have to be filled with the Holy Spirit. James 3:8 says that we have no control over our tongue. But we do have control of what enters our spirit. We have to fill our spirit with godliness. Because whatever is in us spiritually will come out of our mouth eventually. You know exactly how a person’s spirit is, just by listening to the words that come out of their mouth. Basically what I got from this chapter of James is that my tongue matters. What I say and how I say it matters. We have to be careful with our words, because words are powerful.

What are your thoughts on James 3:5-6 and James 3:7-10…comment… let’s start a discussion

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

