My Journey Through James

James 5:19-20 MSG

My dear friends, if you know people who have wandered off from God’s truth, don’t write them off. Go after them. Get them back and you will have rescued precious lives from destruction and prevented an epidemic of wandering away from God.

James 5:19-20 ERV

My brothers and sisters, if anyone wanders away from the truth and someone helps that person come back, remember this: Anyone who brings a sinner back from the wrong way will save that person from eternal death and cause many sins to be forgiven.

James 5:19-20 NLT

My dear brothers and sisters, if someone among you wanders away from the truth and is brought back, you can be sure that whoever brings the sinner back from wandering will save that person from death and bring about the forgiveness of many sins.

James 5:19-20 is not a complicated or difficult verse to understand-actually it is one of the easiest verses to understand out of this entire series. When I read James 5:19-20, The Lord showed me how it is my responsibility to seek the lost. I know brothers and sisters who have wandered away from his word and it is me who is supposed to bring them back. Sometimes all people need is a push or a reminder of how great it is to live for the Father. James is basically saying in verse 19 that if we, as Christians, see our brothers or sisters wandering away from the word, the church, or openly sinning against God-go after them. We aren’t saving them or rescuing them, because that’s The Lord’s job, but we are giving them that push that they need. They already know the truth- they just walked away from it. Verse 20 explains how we will save that person from heartbreak, sin, mess, pain or anything that they can easily get caught up in.  It is our job to obey God and go after that person and guide them back to what they already know. We need to act like sisters and help one another. We have to be led by the holy spirit- and our hearts must break when we see friends, love ones, sisters in the church who we know are running away from the things of God. We must go out of our way and bring them back to the source.

 

Thank you so much for walking through this journey with me. I am so thankful for you who read my blogs faithfully and have been with me since the beginning. If this is your first time on my page please go check out my previous blog posts. I will continue to blog regularly and The Lord has already dropped on my heart the topics he wants me to blog about. For you who wander how I come up with my topics, I only blog what The Lord drops in my heart and I also blog conferences and camps that I attend. I pray before, during and after I blog. Everything I do is for a purpose and I will not put something together if it is not birthed from Jesus. I am excited about what’s to come and I want to continue to obey The Lord and what he has called me to do.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

